Inside Beecher Cheese Factory and Shop, New York

Beecher Cheese, New York City, Flagship Reserve cheese

Beecher Cheese, a Seattle cheese-maker, yesterday opened the doors to its brand new, 8,000 square foot New York factory and store.

I dropped in during my lunch hour to spy on the cheese-making process, which happens smack dab in the front of the store behind two-story high glass panes.

Beecher’s enormous space is enough room to hold a sizable cheese-making area, a

retail shop with at least three separate cheese cases, and a long lunch counter, where hot sandwiches, soup, and coffee are sold. There are some seats downstairs that look into the wet cheese-makers’ area, where long, steel tanks hold hundreds of gallons of whey and curds and workers wear water proof boots and long gloves. Hoses pop up everywhere to rinse various equipment. It’s a rather unromantic scene.

Beecher Cheese factory New York City

Beecher Cheese factory, New York City

Up a short flight of stairs is an additional seating area that also looks into the cheese room, but from a bird’s eye view. Some tables and chairs dot the center of the room, but along the window is a bar-like area where the seats are old metal milk pails.

For opening day, Beecher was offering a 50 percent discount on everything. I tasted a few of the company’s signature cheeses, which are all in the cheddar style, plus a Smokey Blue (too rich and smokey for my taste, but reminiscent of a cobb salad, that baconish whiff of smoke mingling with the tang of blue veins in the cheese), and a nutty semi-hard and lightly orange cheese called Field Green. I bought a quarter pound for a little less than $3 with the sale.

Eater reported that Beecher’s has a cellar
, too, which I did not explore. I’ll have to return on a day when it’s less crowded.

About Jill Duffy
Jill Duffy is a software analyst and full-time writer for PCMag.com. She's worked in the publishing industry since 2000, mostly covering technology, science, and food. Currently, she lives in New York, but if you're wondering if this is the same Jill Duffy that perhaps you met living in San Francisco, CA, or London, U.K., or Buffalo, NY, or Huntington, NY, then yes, it's probably the same person. She also lived for a very short time in a small town in North Carolina as a teenager and Pennsylvania as a toddler, but those days are mostly stricken from memory now.

3 Responses to Inside Beecher Cheese Factory and Shop, New York

  1. Anonymous says:

    The NY store looks exactly like the Seattle one! I’m so pleased that Beecher’s came to New York, so now I can stuff my face with their grilled cheese + tomato sandwich on either coast! Also Jill, I love reading your blog, it’s so cool that you’re doing this

  2. Anonymous says:

    The NY store looks exactly like the Seattle one! I’m so pleased that Beecher’s came to New York, so now I can stuff my face with their grilled cheese + tomato sandwiches on either coast! Also Jill, I love reading your blog, it’s so cool that you’re doing this

    • Jill Duffy says:

      I ate lunch at Beecher a few days ago. A woman kept feeding me so many samples, though, that by the time I was ready to order, I was barely hungry. I tried a strata (torn bread, eggs, sausage, cheese baked into one big fluffy mass), Beecher’s classic mac-n-cheese with penne pasta, and a summer gratin. They were all very yummy, but heavy!

Add a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

